Waddington’s was acquired by Hasbro in 1994. The next release in 1996 introduced the standard sized box. 2006 saw the first square box, the box type currently used to this day. The significant change was the tokens. In this era, Monopoly was advertised for up to eight players. The new line-up include: Thimble, Hat, Iron, Racecar, Boot, Battleship, Wheelbarrow, Dog, Cannon and Horse & Rider. The last two would be dropped just 12 years later in 2008.

1996 – 2006 tokens




Identical production code to ‘2003 – Quick Rules’. The only difference is the side of the box.

2003 – Quick Rules

2006 – Square Box